From the Teeth of Angels

Автор: Carroll Jonathan

Рубрика: Современная проза

Год издания: 1994

ANNOTATIONIan meets Death in a dream. He is promised the answer to any question. Failure to understand the answer will cost him his life. Unhappy Arlen gives up everything and moves halfway around the world and discovers the man she's been waiting for always. Terminally ill Wyatt finds that he has the ability to raise the dead. Three fates converge to ask the ultimate question–what is Death? FROM THE PUBLISHERJonathan Carroll is no longer just a cult author. His previous novel, After Silence, placed this gifted and award-winning writer squarely in the mainstream. The San Francisco Chronicle raved, "After Silence is filled with people who feel as real as one's closest friends, observed with a penetrating, and sometimes brutally chilling, clarity...a taut, original work whose excellence fulfills the promises made by this remarkable author over the last dozen years." In From the Teeth of Angels, Jonathan Carroll returns to that unique literary landscape that he paves with magic and wonder. While vacationing in Sardinia, Ian McGann meets Death in a dream. Death promises to answer any of McGann's questions, but if he fails to understand the answers, he will have to pay with his life. In Los Angeles, successful film actress Arlen Ford is no longer happy living in the Hollywood fast lane. She gives up everything – her career, her house, her glamorous lifestyle – and moves to Austria, where she meets a passionate war correspondent. From the start, their relationship is all-consuming. Arlen realizes she has been waiting for this man all her life. And in Vienna, the terminally ill Wyatt Leonard suddenly discovers that he has the ability to raise the dead. How all three of these extraordinary fates converge is at the heart of Jonathan Carroll's most daring and provocative novel, in which he dares to ask – and answer – the ultimate question: What is Death?

Вся аннотация

Рейтинг: 49

Другие книги автора
Название книги Рубрика Рейтинг
Carroll Jonathan - A Child across the Sky 56
Carroll Jonathan - After Silence 60
Carroll Jonathan - Bones of The Moon 55
Carroll Jonathan - Fish in a Barrel 46
Carroll Jonathan - From the Teeth of Angels 49
Carroll Jonathan - Kissing the Beehive 29
Carroll Jonathan - Oh-Oh City 24
Carroll Jonathan - Sleeping in Flame 47
Carroll Jonathan - The Land Of Laughs 15
Carroll Jonathan - The Marriage of Sticks 25